Commenting and Reflecting

Image by David Castillo Dominici

The first graders finished their nursery rhyme podcasts and had a chance to listen back to each other’s recordings. After each one the class had a chance to give helpful comments and compliments to the podcaster. We talked about what kind of comment would be useful and how to give a specific compliment. We brainstormed and came up with commenting on voice clarity, loudness, smoothness and expressiveness. Some of the compliments that the students gave each other were, “I like how your voice sounded loud,” “I like how you spoke clearly,” or “The Pre-K students will be able to understand you because you said each word by itself.” Good commenting is something that takes practice and modeling; we will continue to make this part of the process.

Another area we are exploring with the first graders is reflecting on their work; thinking about the process, what they did, how they did it, what they did well and what could be improved. Reflecting on their work will be something we will be asking the students to do and is something they will grow into. We started by asking the students to reflect on their nursery rhyme podcasts. Here is some of what we got:

  • “It felt good because I want the pre-k-ers to read by the time they are in first grade.”
  • “I listened to all the ones I read and then I found one that was perfect. It made me feel good.”
  • “I liked working with a partner, but next time I would like to try it myself.”
  • “Every time I did it loud enough, I forgot to introduce myself; every time I introduced myself, I was too quiet. So I kept trying until I got it right.”

I believe you will agree that the first graders are off to a good start!

Leave a Reply

