It’s About Time

3271558744_148687882f_m

Being stupid takes no time at all.

This is what I tell my students when I am teaching about digital citizenship and online awareness. Digital citizenship, like anything, is about doing the right thing and making the right choices. It takes no time at all to send a mean text, make a nasty comment, or respond to a negative email; but it does take time to stop and think about the consequences of your actions: will this embarrass, hurt, shame or make someone uncomfortable; will it embarrass me, my school, or my family? This meta-moment of pausing to imagine the consequences is something that we all need to remember to take the time to do.
photo credit: smaedli via photopin cc

Leave a Reply

