What Will You Learn Today?


“It’s essential to keep moving, learning and evolving for as long as you’re here and this world keeps spinning”

Rasheed Ogunlaru

paper-1100254_960_720My love affair with learning started way back in second grade when my teacher let me help lead our reading group. She empowered me. I wanted to do well and it was easy because I loved to learn and I had room to do it in my teacher’s class. I was able to progress as far as I could because my teacher allowed me to. I did not have to stop and wait for others.

Flash forward 4 decades (which makes me feel old) and I continue to love learning. In fact, if I don’t know how to do something, I will learn how rather than pass the task or job to someone else. When I began my current position, I was not tech savvy; I was not even tech knowledgeable (if that is even a phrase). But, I took it as an opportunity to grow in a new direction.

One of the ways I love to learn is through Coursera. I have taken four of their courses: Computer Science 101 from Stanford, American Education Reform: History, Policy, Practice from the Graduate School of Education at the University of Pennsylvania, Contagious: How Things Catch On (now called, Viral Marketing: How to Craft Contagious Content) from the Wharton School, and Introduction to Marketing, also from the Wharton School. Currently, I am deciding between choosing from these Coursera educator courses  or continuing along the business route just because I can.

As educators, it is vital that we both continue our own learning and share this love with our students. We need to show our students it is ok to say, “I don’t know,” and then show them how to ask questions and how to seek out the answers. We need to show them that when we do not know something, we will stop to find out, and will share what we learned when we do.

So, what will you learn today?

CCO Public Domain Image from Pixabay

Leave a Reply

