There’s Always More to Learn

tree_of_knowledge

“The more I live, the more I learn. The more I learn, the more I realize, the less I know.”
Michel Legrand

This post is all about learning. Many of us can get into a routine of doing things the same way we always have and thinking that we know all there is on or about a particular subject. This is not the case.

Today I spent the day with Rich Kiker for the first of two days of Google Educator Certification Boot Camp and while I thought I knew a lot about Google tools, today proved there is always more to learn.

Example #1 Set an Expiration Date for Shared Items

I thought I knew all about sharing, but I did not know that there is a new feature that allows you to share items for a limited time. Just hover over one of the people with whom you’ve shared something and a little stopwatch icon appears. Just set up the expiration date for the item and you’re good to go!

Example #2 Advanced Search Within Drive

If you are really organized and use proper naming conventions and folders then you probably do not have much of an issue with finding your files. But if you have been using and creating items in your Drive then you may fall into the category of people who can’t remember where they’ve put things or what they called them. Google Drive has a robust search feature which goes beyond just typing some words into the search bar and offers advanced features like searching by owner, file type, date, and more. Screen Shot 2016-04-11 at 9.32.56 AM.png

Example #3 Automatically Search and Hyperlink Text Using the Research Pane

While you are working in a document, select a set of words, open the research pane and voila! your words are already in the search bar. Then new features in the results allow you to preview the page, link to it, or cite the result. If you choose to link, the original words in your document are now hyperlinks. Cool!

For more on Day 1 and some really cool tools and tips, you can check out my Storify (which I like to use to collect my notes).

Tree of Knowledge Image from WPClipart

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

