Popcorn: A Whole New Way to Tell a Digital Story

https://popcorn.webmaker.org/

This week in my #ETMOOC course is all about telling a story. Storytelling has been around since the beginning of time. There are so many ways to visualize a story and that is where digital storytelling comes in. It is really no different from stories told before the invention of the moving picture since those included images, signs and sounds; the major difference is that now we can include digital media.

One of the tools I learned about this week is Popcorn: a video editing site that allows the user to insert text, pop-ups, links, twitter feeds, wikipedia articles and more goodies onto a Youtube, Soundcloud, Vimeo or HTML5 video to make the video interactive for the viewer. It is a way to remix the content to tell another part of the story.

After I watched the ETMOOC introduction, I decided to try this for myself. How difficult could it be? Well, almost 2 hours later I had mine complete. Now I’m not saying it would take everyone this long, but the good part of the first hour was finding a video I wanted to use that I thought I might have something to add, then watching the video and planning the layers. In the end, I chose a TEDxYouth talk by Seth Godin, whose Stop Stealing Dreams I read and wrote about and really enjoyed in a fired up, frustrated-with-public-education kind of way.

Once I got into the project, I really enjoyed thinking of ways to include Twitter hashtags, definitions and articles and thinking how a teacher might use this with a class or how a student might use this to show their learning about a particular topic. In the end, I am pretty happy with my Popcorn about Stop Stealing Dreams. You can check it out below. I would love some feedback!

My Popcorn from TEDxYouth Seth Godin

Leave a comment